An Unexpected Date Night

Standard

Yesterday was Friday the 13th and there was an eerie looking full moon to boot, not that I cared or that you should care, I’m just laying some ground work for my story and figured I’d lead with that. So anyways, yesterday afternoon my oldest two went fishing with their Aunt and cousin for a while as my youngest took a 4 hour nap. I worked on my 2013 photo book until my house filled back up with the welcome chaos of children quarreling, men drinking and moms fluttering about trying to throw dinner together on the fly. So it was shaping up to be a normal Friday night until I got a call at 5pm from my MIL offering to take the kids for a sleep over.

After verifying that my husband hadn’t invited anyone over with their kids I happily accepted the sleepover invite and finished getting dinner on the patio table for my crew. Soon Grandma showed up, a few fire works were set off, remaining food was stuffed down little throats, I ran to pack the overnight bag, our guests headed home, I installed the car seats in G-ma’s car and ushered my minions into their seats, gave hugs and kisses to the cries of my youngest and sent them on their way.

It was a whirl-wind hour and a half and as my husband and I stood alone in our kitchen starring at the empty dinner plates that littered the counter and listening to the quiet that had descended so quickly upon our home we couldn’t help but feel like strangers in a place that was our own. We reveled in our new found freedom having no parental responsibilities, no babysitter to relieve at the end of the night. I cleaned up the dinner mess and joined my husband on the patio at which point I acknowledged how exhausted I was. He suggested I go take a nap on the couch while he waited for a few buddies to show up. I didn’t need convincing and as I lay there on our couch with my dogs on the floor next to me I once more reveled in the absence of or minions and noted how wonderful it felt to lay there instead of going through the bedtime routine.

Of course I didn’t sleep since that would have been a waste of a perfectly good night of potentially good times so I joined the guys around the fire pit to shoot the shit and enjoy some adult conversation. Around 9pm they left to head home to their wives and again I found myself in the kitchen with my husband just enjoying his company and his adoring stares. As it turns out, he likes me a lot. I really like dessert, so I suggested we go out and get some. We headed to Chile’s, a place we frequented back when we were still just dating. Back when it was just the two of us instead of the five of us and every Friday night was full of endless possibilities. We ordered the Southwest Egg Rolls and Chocolate Molton Cake, just like we use to, and although it was 10 o’clock by the time we finished up, my favorite guy suggested we go see a movie, again, just as we use to. So we did. Because we could.

image

Despite my lack of hunger we bought popcorn and a Cherry Coke, because that’s just what you do, and as we looked around the lobby watching the teenagers and other movie-goers my husband decided to play just one game. I wish I could report that I was the girl standing next to the video game machine admiring my guy as he crushed it but in reality he got his ass kicked by the game. I laughed at him, he laughed at himself and then we went to watch the semi-funny, kinda crappy movie. By 1am we were back home, we made out a little, (yup, just like we use to) and passed out.

I got the uninterrupted sleep I’ve been desperate for and now that it’s 10:30 in the morning I think it’s time to greet this beautiful day, give my favorite guy a foot rub and go gather our minions from grandma.

Thanks for letting me brag about my awesome night. I hope you’ve had some stellar Summer nights lately too! Enjoy the weekend and happy Father’s Day to all you great guys out there, especially the one laying beside me!
Cheers,
Colleen

One response »

  1. This is the way I have always lived with one exception……Gary does a LOT more of the cooking and he has for years! I like to keep the memories of “what a great cook Mom was” way back in the recesses of everyone’s mind. I prefer the longing for the days of “remember when Mom pulled us through the snow at LPZ” or “remember when mom climbed a tree while we were at the park with Aunt Liz and she was 9 and 1/2 months pregnant with Jess. Life is great Colleen…..and it always has been!!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

