Farmers Market Tuesday

Standard

It’s May which means the local farmers markets are opening for the season andFarmers Market 2014 I couldn’t be happier. The town of Woodstock has one of the best markets around and is open every Tuesday and Saturday from 8am until 1-pm. The market’s appeal has mostly to do with its charming location and numerous vendors but the fact that it’s my home town doesn’t hurt. Booths are set up around the Historic Woodstock Square and in the middle sits a gazebo where, once it warms up a bit, local musicians play for the crowd as children dance and run around. There is a wide range of vendors providing a variety of plants, veggies, fruits, meats, sweets, jewelry, jump ropes, wood crafts, clothing and my favorite… kettle corn! I am shoveling the sweet and salty goodness down my gullet as I type and may or may not be getting a little queasy. I feel like I’m force-feeding myself like a duck whose liver is being fattened for foie gras. I’ve tried to slow down but I can’t. I think I have a problem. I think I’m okay with that.

Anyways, today, despite the chilly temp we hit up the farmers market and bought 10 pounds of delicious, frozen blueberries, apple cider doughnuts and kettle corn. Then we picnicked in the trunk of our car before starting in on the kettle corn.  Maybe some day I’ll go to the farmers market and buy things like veggies and meats but right now we have a freezer full of pheasant and various pork products that need cooking and a garden growing all sorts of vegetables so it’s the delectable items I’m seeking out. But aren’t I always?

**Sorry body, you’ll just have to deal with the sugar intake. I’m not ready to curtail my cravings. I hope the exercise helps you. Love, me.**

In addition to the farmers market, the Woodstock Square is chalk-full of quaint shops to dip in and out of which is easier if you don’t have two mini-terrorists in tow. We kept to the market today but on nicer days we extend our outing and I dare to venture into a shop or two before my patience disappears or something gets broken and I jet home for nap/quiet time.

It’s really one of my favorite ways to spend the morning and the kids enjoy it as well, especially when the balloon man is there to create whatever whacky thing they can dream up.

So, which farmers markets are you giddy about and what do you love to get from them? I’d love to know!

Cheers,

Your Kettle-Corn Crazed Friend

 

Leave a Reply

