Spring Time Home Improvements

Standard

Flowers are in abundance around the Bailey home both inside and out and it’s making me extremely happy. What’s even better is that about Month ago we had a fence installed to keep the dog home and the two year old in the backyard and it’s helping keep the dogs out of my flowers.

image

For the past two weekends, like many other households we have spent a lot of time outside cleaning up from Winter’s rage and Spring’s arrival. We’ve made numerous trips to the local nursery to buy flowers for our pots and others to hang from our decks and porches.

image

image

I assembled an herb garden in my old strawberry pot (despite the accurate fact my husband pointed out that I never fully utilize the herbs I plant) that I’m quite smitten with.

image

I stood around and looked pretty, ha!, while my husband planted a ton of Summer bulbs for me and added broccoli, artichoke, radishes, carrots, and a free tomato plant to what is already growing in our garden.

image

Our hops are growing great so far so we strung them up so they can continue to climb up the side of our garage.

image

We’ve been working all week to turn our pond-like pool into something more swimable and we’re just about there although the water is barely 70°.

image

When it was about 60° my 6 year old was taunting her dad to throw her in. After assuring her about 10 times that he had no problem actually doing it, she taunted him once more so in she went! She got out bragging about how it wasn’t cold so in she was thrown again. She exited the pool without a smirk the second time! A hot shower ensued before it was off to bed for the night.

image

It’s been a lot of fun getting the outside set up for the Summer and of course there is still a lot of work left to do as always but we’re off to a good start and when I’m tired from working I just sit on the stoop in my driveway, look around me and breath in the beauty that is in full bloom.

image

image

Spring is a wonderful thing. I hope you all are enjoying it too!

image

Cheers,
Colleen

Leave a Reply

