Family-Pleasing Belgian Waffle Recipe

Standard

I could live on  breakfast foods. Pancakes, waffles, omelets, French toast and all the other wonderful options out there make it hard for me to make up my mind when we go out for our morning meal. Lately we’ve been eating out at my favorite local spot a lot and everything I’ve ordered is amazing. Of course my kids stick to the chocolate chip pancakes no matter our location and they often have me whipping them up at home too.

This past Saturday it was no surprise that chocolate chip pancakes (regular for me and the toddler) was on the morning menu but Sunday proved to be a little different. My husband declared it Belgian waffle morning so I shuffled my butt into the kitchen while he corralled the mini terrorists upstairs. I quickly pulled up a recipe I had bookmarked from my last waffle making attempt which went over shockingly well with my waffle connoisseur of a husband.

The recipe I used was the True Belgian Waffles Recipe off Taste of Home’s website although I did tweak it some this time around and the high praise stayed the same. Mainly I reduced the amount of butter and sugar because when you’re topping your waffles before eating them you don’t really need all that stuff in the batter anyways.

2014-02-15 10.11.09

Here’s the recipe I used. Give it a try some morning, you won’t be disappointed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Family-Pleasing Belgian Waffles Recipe

2 cups all- purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 Tbsp baking powder

2 eggs, separated

1 1/2 cups milk

1/2 cup butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

1. In a large bowl combine flour, sugar and baking powder. In a separate bowl beat the egg yolks and add the milk, butter and vanilla. Mix well. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just combined. In a third bowl beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Gently fold into batter.

2. Bake in preheated waffle iron. I start off on setting 3 and adjust down from there if need be but you be the judge of your own waffle iron. Settings and temperatures vary.

Don’t forget to top those waffles with some strawberry preserves, a little applesauce and syrup, some fresh fruit or whatever suits your fancy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

These waffles were so good that even my SIL who is dropping weight for an upcoming fight couldn’t resist and had to use it as her cheat meal for the week.

What’s also great is that they reheat wonderfully in the toaster so go ahead and double the batch while you’re at it and throw some in the freezer for the next time you’re having a waffle craving. They’re great as a dessert option too!

Bon Appetit!

Colleen

 

Leave a Reply

