Our Snow Day of Sickness

Standard

Instead of having a fun, friend-filled day off of school our house was in a self-imposed state of quarantine.

This was my baby yesterday…

2014-01-27 08.50.34 2014-01-27 10.25.24 2014-01-27 12.46.15

She had a terrible time Sunday night combating a high fever, severe cough and runny nose. Thanks to the cough she woke up every 20-30 minutes and since she was sleeping in my bed her daddy and I were up every 20-30 minutes as well.

Then her brother puked in his bed and suddenly there four of us shuffling around for blanket use and pillow space.

Correction— There were actually only two of us shuffling around for blanket use and pillow space because, let’s be real, our sickly wee ones don’t really give a rats behind who they’re inconveniencing with their perpendicularly placed bodies and sprawling appendages as long as they are comfortable and able to sleep. And if we’re being “real” here, then you should know that I actually don’t mind playing blanket tug-o-war with my husband as long as my sweet babies sleep.

But then my son puked for a second time…in my bed.

Needless to say yesterday was a bit hairy. My son actually has been totally fine since he puked but his sleep-deprived, body-aching little sister needed to be in my arms all day, thus the photos of her misery. What else was I suppose to do throughout the day while getting my upper body workout?

Magically this little lady rallied in the evening and has been doing much better. She slept in my bed again but only woke up a few times. This is the happy, healthy (well healthier) toddler I’m use to seeing at the start of my day…

2014-01-28 07.58.00

 

Oh, I failed to mention that yesterday my washing machine decided to give me the middle finger and so you know those puke-covered sheets and clothes from Sunday night… well, they’re not clean yet even though they were washed twice. And then my older kids stripped down my toddler before her shower and she pooped on my carpet. Monday in the Bailey house was just lovely.

Today is proving to be amazingly better although my dog did confiscate a package that was delivered for our upcoming vacation and used it as an outdoor chew toy.  Luckily nothing was ruined by his shenanigans!

2014-01-28 12.22.31

Also, I freely admit I did a crap-tacular job training my dog and my punishment is never ending.

Enjoy the rest of your Tuesday!

~ Colleen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

