A Moment of Clarity

Standard

DSC04409I feel a little scatterbrained these days… and tired, sort of like the way this yellow and green turkey looks.

You too, you say?

I thought maybe that was the case and it makes me feel a little better that we’re all in the same boat more or less.

I’ve been trying to do less in an attempt to ward off these feelings but it always seems to backfire on me because no matter whether I’m over-extending myself or sluffing off I use up all my energies, both mental and physical, on my daily activities and then I’m spent. This morning I was feeling a little more off balance despite hitting the gym and getting some errands done, dragging my sweet girls in and out of stores before picking their brother up from preschool.DSC04407 I think it was the combination of wanting to spend quality time with my kiddos, take some personal time for exercise and accomplish important household tasks while keeping everyone happy, you know, the typical mom job sort of thing. I’m not saying I didn’t accomplish this all in the 2 1/2 hours between preschool drop-off and pick-up, I’m just saying it left me especially taxed.

But then my sweet boy came into the car, with his bright, mischievous smile and handed me a packet. Inside the packet was a collection of Thanksgiving crafts that he had worked on over the past week or so. As I pulled out each craft he eagerly pointed out his efforts and I felt calm and happy and so loved and in that moment I felt centered again. It was a moment so special and so needed and even though that centered feeling didn’t stay with me all day, as I look up at these labors of love now hanging in our home I am reminded of that moment and it makes me relax and smile and trudge through the witching hours of our days.

DSC04405

DSC04406I hope that you all are blessed with these little moments of clarity that put everything into perspective amidst the hustle and bustle of the season.

Wishing you all a calm and happy Thanksgiving!

~Colleen

Leave a Reply

