Mason Jars and Laid Back Charm – A Bridal Shower Affair

Standard

My postings  have been a bit sparse lately but that’s because I’ve been busy hosting some pretty important parties. A few weeks back there was my sister’s wedding reception that I think I mentioned and then this past weekend I hosted a wedding shower for a good friend of mine. Here’s some wedding shower party highlights from a party planner’s perspective.

The sangria bar was the focal point in the beverage department. I had an idea, Googled it, found inspiration and this is what happened. I think everyone enjoyed it as much as I did and I’m happily finishing the rest of the white sangria as I type. I’d just like to note that there was suppose to be cute name tags on each jar but they wandered off from my table. I expect to find them in the kids’ toy box or in one of the dog’s poops in the yard.

DSC03199       DSC03203

DSC03200Anyways, their wedding in August is a very country-chic backyard affair so I went with a “mason jars and laid back charm” type of theme as someone on the internet so aptly called it. I kept to the theme with cute advice cards which were hung on a line, a quick little game of “Guess the Market Price” and prizes contained in jars.

DSC03202  DSC03228 DSC03217

The prizes were awarded to the winner of “The Price is Right” and to the winner of the cookie dress design contest. The third was given as a door prize of sorts to the person with the birthday closest to the wedding date.

My love for sugar cookies demanded this be part of the shower and since everyone seemed to enjoy it back in December for my sister’s wedding shower I replicated the activity for the new crowd.

DSC03218

The soon-to-be bride picking her favorite dress

DSC03192

Of course the cookies were not the only sweets. I made a chocolate-chocolate chip cake with a standard buttercream frosting and a fresh strawberry filling which was complemented by some delicious, homemade strawberry ice cream (bummed I don’t have a pic) thanks to my SIL. She also made some kick butt lasagna cups for lunch!

DSC03201

There were little details here and there that pulled it all together in my opinion like the cute paper that covered water bottles, utensils wrapped in napkins and tied with twine and a booklet of some of the bride’s favorite things but I was too busy enjoying the party to photograph it all.

Present bingo is played at a lot of showers while the lady of honor opens gifts. Instead, we had a little fun filling out a story, Mad-lib style, in order to come up with The Story of Lesley and John. Of course it turned out pretty silly and we all got in a few good laughs.

I just love throwing a good party, especially when the person of honor is such a great person!

Cheers to you, Lesley (and John!)

DSC03206

 I can’t wait to celebrate your marriage with you, boogie down and watch Lil and O perform their important duties!

Now I must sleep.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

