I Must Have Pissed off Mother Nature

Standard

And the rain rain rain came down down down
And the flood rose up up upper…

winnie the pooh rain

I grew up reading and watching Winnie the Pooh. My mom did fantastic impersonations of the characters (at least I thought they were fantastic) as she read to us. This picture of Pooh-Bear pretty much sums up my morning.

I was woken up multiple times this morning by crashes of thunder and rain beating down. My 5 year old came scampering into my room after beign jolted awake by an especially loud crack of thunder that shook the house. The lightening show was amazing and we enjoyed it from the comfort of my bed. Then my husband got up and spoiled it all by announcing that the yard had flooded and there was probably water in the basement. He was right.

Here’s what our yard looks like on a normal morning

DSC02326

Here’s what our yard looked like this morning.

DSC03110 DSC03111

You see that open area to the right of the playset? This past weekend we had a 20′ x 30′ white tent occupying that space for my sister’s wedding reception. Thank goodness this flash flood didn’t happen then. I don’t think we could have sandbagged her tent like we did to mine on my wedding day!

We obviously need to have a little chat with the property managers of the unfinished development on the other side of our tree line. Their silt-filled retention pond is not doing its job. Using a few rakes we pushed all the floating wood chips back into the playset area before the water absorbed into the ground. I’m counting that was a win. The water in the basement was just enough to be a pain but all we lost was about 1/3 of the padding and the carpet will be fine once it dries so that’s another win. The leak above my kitchen ceiling is another matter. I don’t want to talk about it.

The silver lining to the basement shuffle-o-shit  is that we had to relocate some toys to the upstairs and the kids are happily playing together as I type. Unfortunately as soon as my baby wakes from her 3 + hour nap it’ll be time to tackle my mom’s basement.

I hope Mother Nature is being more kind to you!

Cheerio!

Leave a Reply

