Freedom…At Least for the Kids.

Standard

School ended today. My oldest gal is now done with preschool and her brother finished his first 1/2 year of preschool.  I am sad that she will no longer be at Montessori because she excelled in that environment more than we could ever have dreamed. She is leaving that school with a love of numbers, art and nature. I couldn’t be more proud of her. I am excited for her next adventure and I hope that she transitions easily to a new way of learning. It’s off to public, full-day (YES!) kindergarten this Fall including a bus ride and lunch at school and new friends and teachers. She’s a little anxious about the unknown and sad to be leaving her teachers that she has been with for the past two years. I totally expected this from her. It’s normal.

Lilly on her first day of school Fall 2012. That’s a Grandpa Rob look if I’ve ever seen one!

What I didn’t expect was that I would turn into a blubbering mess upon picking her up from her last day of preschool. I’d like to admit here that I also cried dropping her off for the first time so I shouldn’t have been so off guard. Oh well, I guess that’s parenting for you. This Fall it will be interesting seeing how everyone adjusts to the new school routine. It’s not just Lil that will experience new things.

O on his first day after turning 3.

O on his first day after turning 3.

O will experience preschool without the comfort of having his big sister walk him to class every day and hang up his backpack. He’ll become more independent, confident and self-sufficient (I hope) which is something he could use as he tends to depend on his sister (A classic mother hen) and myself more than he really needs to but I suppose part of that is my doing.

Today on their last day before Summer vacation.

Today on their last day before Summer vacation.

Now it’s Summer time (let’s forget for a moment that it topped out at 52 degrees today) and the kids have all this freedom in the morning, at least in theory. But let’s be real, my freedom just came to a screeching halt. Errands will be a lot more…fun…with my three in tow but hey, that’s the name of the game for us. It’s all good. And really, I’ve got our summer already scheduled. Summer school for the soon-to-be kindergartener with a love of numbers, tennis for me, gymnastics for them both, maybe a cooking or music class for O (the only park district classes for a 3-year-old where a parent doesn’t have to attend) and lots of visiting of family and friends, swimming in the pool, baking, bike riding, zoo adventures and farmers markets. Ahhh, Summer time! Let the crazy continue.

I thrive on crazy.

And caffeine.

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

