But Where’s My Chef Gone?

Standard

Having spent five days away from my kids in the Dominican Republic for my sister’s wedding has rendered me useless in my kitchen.

DSC01854

A mother searching for her sanity? Great place to look for it!

It was so nice having all my meals provided for me. I pretty much had some variation of steak for every meal aside from breakfast, but only because it wasn’t offered. Not having to stare into my fridge or freezer wondering what I could whip up that would pass as a suitable meal for both my children and husband was marvelous! Needless to say, I found a few pounds I had been missing.

photo-bomb

A Chive-worthy photo-bomb, I’d say.

Now that I’m back I’m lamenting the lack of a personal chef and my kids have been eating mac-n-cheese, ham sandwiches and PB&J. I feel a bit guilty about this but the kids aren’t complaining so the guilt is waning.

Chace and Kelly dip pic

My beautiful twin and her awesome husband!

And then yesterday I cut the webbing between my pinky and ring finger with a steak knife while separating frozen burger patties.

me and Kelly

She’s a sold 1 1/2 inches taller than me. What the heck! We’re suppose to be identical, dammit!

And had to get 4 stitches.

glasses pic

We obviously had a blast. And are super cool. Like I even had to type that last sentence.

This pretty much drove home the notion that I am no longer fit to operate in my kitchen. Maybe by the time my sunburn heals I will have regained my confidence in my culinary skills but until then I am keeping my distance from sharp knives and only serving popsicles to my hungry children. They probably won’t mind, for a while at least.

That's me on the far left.

That’s me on the far left.

Here’s a link to my YouTube video of the first round of popsicles and proof that my 10 month old does talk intentionally at times.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Og_VCxIvAUM&feature=youtu.be

It’s tough adjusting to real life after a long weekend in a tropical place.

I know, don’t you feel sorry for me? Probably not about the adjusting to reality part but maybe a little for the stitches part? That’s what I thought.

Where’s your next vacation spot? I’ve been planning my next beach get-away since my plane touched down in Chicago welcoming me home with 12 degree weather.

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

