Pad Thai with Pork

Standard

I didn’t grow up eating interesting things. We were a meat and potatoes household. Not that meat and potatoes are a bad thing because I love me some meat and potatoes. It’s just that it can get a little boring. We had chicken so much that when we asked my mom what was for dinner she would sing in a most annoying way, “Chicken! Chicken! Chicken! Chicken!” Cue groans, throw up noises and whining.

It wasn’t until I went away to college that my taste buds were challenged. My dad use to sweat just eating ketchup for heaven sake! My boyfriend (now husband) introduced me to the world of hot sauce and my first college roommate got me hooked on Thai food. Thanks to them I feel like I have a more well-rounded palate. Of course, while we were living in Chicago where there are tons of wonderful places to eat, my husband refused to eat Thai food with me. It wasn’t until after we moved to the burbs that I got him to try it. He had Pad Thai and fell in love. Go figure. We were soon spending about $25 a week on Thai food because we just had to have it. Eventually we acknowledged the strain of that indulgence on our finances so we cut it out and I was ordered to find a good recipe and make it.

Yes, Sir!

It took a while to get my act together. Finally I whipped up a version of Pad Thai, usuing pork instead of chicken, to rave reviews from Mr. Pad Thai Lover himself. I really liked it too (added bonus) and will be making it a few times a month, I’m sure.

I used the recipe below from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen and substituted pork for the chicken. I also only soaked my rice noodles for 10 minutes (based on my rice noodle package instructions for stir fry noodles) instead of the 30-45 minutes suggested in her directions. I misread the directions and only added 2 tablespoons of peanut oil before frying the egg and assembling the dish and it came out a little on the sticky side so I’d say use the 1/4 cup called for. Aside from those changes, I followed this recipe exactly.

Pad Thai with Chicken Pork

Yield: 6 servings

Ingredients:

1 (12 ounce) package rice noodles

2 tablespoons peanut oil

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast halves pork chops, cut into bite-sized pieces after cooked

1/4 cup peanut oil

2 cloves of garlic, minced

3 green onions, chopped

4 eggs

2 tablespoon white wine vinegar

4 tablespoons fish sauce

6 tablespoons white sugar

1 tablespoon sweet chili sauce (I used Sri Racha)

1 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 cups bean sprouts

1/4 cup crushed peanuts

1 green onion, chopped for garnish

1 lime, cut into wedges

Directions:

Soak rice noodles in hot water 30 to 45 minutes, or until soft. Drain, and set aside. Heat peanut oil in a wok or large heavy skillet over medium-high heat. Saute chicken, garlic, and green onions until browned. Remove, and set aside. Return the wok to the burner and add 1/4 cup of peanut oil. Heat oil in wok over medium-high heat. Crack eggs into hot oil, and cook until firm. Stir in chicken, softened noodles, vinegar, fish sauce, sugar, sweet chili sauce, red pepper, and cayenne pepper. Adjust seasonings to taste. Mix while cooking, until noodles are tender. Add bean sprouts and a squirt of lime, and mix for 2-3 minutes. Garnish with crushed peanuts, green onions, and a lime wedge.

Source: adapted from allrecipes.com


 

One response »

Leave a Reply

