Pumpkin-aholic

Standard

I love pumpkin and now that it’s Fall I’m just getting started. I was at Sam’s Club and there was a three pack of the huge cans of pumpkin puree. Naturally I bought it and am well on my journey to overdose on the stuff by Christmas. The first of the three cans is open in my fridge right now so I feel the need to put pumpkin in many things. I haven’t gotten too crazy with the stuff yet, but like I said, I’m just getting started.

So here’s what I’ve done with it so far.

This morning I mixed some pumpkin into my oatmeal with some cranberries, walnuts, pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon. I’ll be repeating this for the remainder of the fall season except for when I make pumpkin pancakes. That’s been on my menu quite a bit lately since we’re avid pancake consumers. My friend, Stacey, and her 3 boys were over the other afternoon and we made pumpkin pancakes for dinner with mini chocolate chips. Stacey had the recipe in her head so I just mixed up everything per her instructions. As it turns out, she forgot the butter and sugar but we didn’t even notice anything was missing!

I’ve also whipped up some White Chocolate Pumpkin Spice Cookies that I found on Tastykitchen. They were really great and I loved the white chocolate chips as opposed to the milk chocolate I usually use.  Here’s the link so you can try them: http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/desserts/white-chocolate-pumpkin-spice-cookies/

That same morning that I whipped up the cookies I also made some pumpkin scones. Trader Joes has a mix that you just add water to. I’m sure they would have been great without adding anything extra but I couldn’t help myself so I threw in a bunch of white chocolate chips and dried cranberries. They tasted great and took moments to make. I’ll be traveling to Trader Joes soon to get more of this mix because, although I love making things from scratch, sometimes a little mindless baking is in order.

Oh, and one more pumpkiny thing before I’m finished. I now sprinkle pumpkin pie spice on top of my coffee grounds in the morning. It makes my house smell like Fall and is a nice compliment to the pumpkin pancakes, oatmeal, scones and cookies that are in abundance at my house!

I hope you’re enjoying Fall as much as I am. I’m off to find something new to whip up for our pumpkin painting playdate tomorrow!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

