Boys Will be Boys. And We’ll Go to the ER

Standard

We went to the ER about 1 1/2 months ago. Odin had a run-in with the Walmart floor and bashed his nose either on the ground or the cart. I thought for sure it was broken, and so did my buddy, Jana, who thankfully was with us. I called the pediatrician who directed us to go to the hospital but first I had to purchase my groceries, drop Lilly and Jana off at home, pack a bag for the hospital (because you never know how long you’re going to wait) and then I grabbed some snacky food since it was lunch time.

There was hardly a wait which was great and since there was a television on with cartoons playing it wouldn’t have mattered if we had to wait all day because my tv deprived son was enthralled. While we were in the back waiting for x-rays I took some pics because Ela just happened to be dressed up for no reason other than I wanted her to wear her cute dress. Does this boy look like he has a broken nose to you?

The radiologist came in to get Odin and told me I could wait in the room if O was cool with it. I asked him if Mama could stay put and he said, “Yeah.” And off he rolled in that big bed with his teddy bear in one hand and a granola bar in the other.

And I was left in the room with Ela feeling dejected because my boy doesn’t need his mama anymore and can go get x-rays in a big scarey hospital all by himself. He must fancy himself a pro after fracturing his leg last year. I sat and waited for my boy to come back and all I could think was, “Hey! Boy. You’ll always need your mama.”  Or maybe it’s the other way around…. either way, I’m scarred. Obviously. But he was just fine.

 

*** update since writing the original post***

2 weeks after the face bashing incident described above we wound up back in the ER because O dropped a 10 pound weight on his big toe. Like his nose, his toe was not fractured though his toe nail looked pretty gnarly and fell off after about 3 weeks. The jury is still out as to whether or not he damaged the nail bed since there isn’t a new nail growing yet. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

So for the year Odin ended up with 3 trips to the ER but only 1 fractured bone. It could have been worse I suppose.

Leave a Reply

