Baking the Blues Away

Standard

I love baking so it’s a given that it’s one of my go-to coping mechanisms. After taking a whiff of my dad’s old cologn that was still lying around at my mom’s house I came home and whipped up some blueberry rhubarb bars and some Rice Krispy treats. It’s funny, the more time that goes by the sadder I am with my dad’s passing. I suppose that’s just how it goes. I really wish I could bake him up a delicious chocolate cake. That was his favorite.

Any ways, the bars were wonderful and I used up some of the rhubarb left in my garden which made me happy. With the help of my husband the Rice Krispy treats were gone in about 20 hours and the bars are deminishing quickly too but I’m the only one that will touch them (but that’s not a bad thing!)

Here’s a link to the bars in case you feel compelled to try them:

Blueberry Rhubarb Bars | Tasty Kitchen: A Happy Recipe Community!.

The best part about them is that you can substitute different berries and baking fruits to suit your fancy.

3 responses »

  1. Those bars looks so yummy. I would have loved to have helped devour those. Call me next time and I’ll bring the milk or coffee.

    Life will never be the same without your dad. My kids know too. Talk to him and his spirit will come to visit.

  2. Aww I’m sorry Leenie. I know it’s hard to lose your Dad. He was a great guy and is missed by everyone, you’re not alone. We all love you and love sharing our memories with you. Remember he’s free from his pain. I don’t know if you remember, but we had this poem at my Dad’s funeral and I think it holds true for your Dad’s passing:

    Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free
    I’m following the path God laid for me.
    I took His hand when I heard Him call;
    I turned my back and left it all.

    I could not stay another day,
    To laugh, to love, to work or play.
    Tasks left undone must stay that way;
    I found that place at the close of day.

    If my parting has left a void,
    Then fill it with remembered joy.
    A friendship shared a laugh, a kiss;
    Ah yes, these things, I too will miss.

    Be not burdened with times of sorrow
    I wish you the sunshine of tomorrow.
    My life’s been full, I savored much;
    Good friends, good times, a loved ones touch.

    Perhaps my time seems all to brief;
    Don’t lengthen it now with undue grief.
    Lift up your heart and share with me,
    God wanted me now, He set me free.

    Remember he’s no longer sick and free from pain. He loved you and will always have your memories with him.

Leave a Reply

