Pissing in a jug

Standard

Yup, that’s what I got to do all day yesterday. I wasn’t collecting a urine sample for kicks, I’m not that strange. I promise! My OB wanted a 24 hour urine sample so that they can see how much protein my body is getting rid of.

I should probably clarify. I didn’t have to pee directly into a jug. That would have been a bit challenging considering the fact that my belly extends far enough in front of me that it impairs my view. I think you know what I’m trying to say here. So I peed in a pot thingy and then poured the contents into the neon orange jug they gave me. Fun, right…

Not at first. I forgot to take the jug with me while I was out of the house in the morning running errands with O. 3 1/2 hours is a long time for a pregnant person to go without peeing. Now mind you, I do have a stellar bladder and have probably boasted this fact to you in the past. Anyways, by the time we got home I really, REALLY had to pee. I got my pot and filled it up. I was pretty impressed with the measured results.

26 fluid ounces! That’s a lot of piss in one go since the pot only held 30 ounces. Bet ya can’t beat that.

Honestly, I don’t want to know even if you do. Throughout the rest of the day I came nowhere close to that first amount. I was feeling a bit disappointed with myself but then…

In the middle of the night I peed 28 ounces. A new record! Woo hoo! I felt pretty accomplished as I crawled back in bed and drifted off to sleep. I’m such a champ.

This morning I took my two neon orange jugs and proudly handed them over to the receptionist at my OB office. It’s nice not having to catch my pee in a plastic pot anymore though it was neat to see how much I piss in a 24 hour period. It was more than I would have guessed.

Isn’t pregnancy FUN?!? That’s what I’m going to keep telling myself for the next 9 weeks. If I lie to myself enough I just might start believing it.

Happy pissing, people.

Cheers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

