Driving

Standard

It’s nights like these that I miss the freedom that I had before kids. The type of freedom that allowed me to go driving with Cullen in his truck on snowy nights when most people hole up in their houses and wait for the roads to be plowed and salted. We’d go out and do doughnuts wherever we could and fishtail around all the curves, not because our truck couldn’t handle the weather but because it was fun. It’s still fun, damnit, which is why that is exactly what Cullen is out doing right now but with our neighbor in the passenger seat instead of me. Sigh. I just hope I don’t get a call saying they’re in a ditch…or jail…

I’ve decided that when my kids are older, like driving age older, Cullen and I are going to go out driving during big snows and make them stay at home. I mean, it’ll be much too dangerous for them but it’s perfectly acceptable for us. Our prefrontal lobes are fully developed after all. They’ll have to wait another 8 years or so until theirs catch up and are able to conduct a sound risk-analysis of any given situation. I’m looking forward to their protests and complaints and being called a hypocrite for doing some of the things I won’t let them do. That’s what’s so great about being a parent. To a certain extent the whole “because I said so and I’m older” excuse works…I think.

At least in my head it works and if you’ve parented teens and know I’m being delusional please don’t feel the need to correct me because I like how it goes down in my head. I fear reality will shake me out of my dreamland too soon anyways. I think I’ll just stay in my naive happy place for a while longer, thank you very much.

Any ways, to recap, this is what I’ve decided tonight:

1. Recklessly driving in the snow is fun and I miss it and will continue to do so for the next 15 odd years while Cullen tells me stories of his reckless behavior.

2. Parents are allowed to be hypocrites on occasion because the risk-analysis portion of our brains has been fully developed. (Yes, I’m aware that “fully developed” is not always synonymous with “works adequately”, but for my argument it’s an erroneous detail.)

Leave a Reply

