Playing with fondant

Standard

I have a good friend, Rebecca. We share a passion for baking though our styles and methods differ a bit. I like to focus more on the actual cake and Rebecca’s talents lie in the decorating realm. She does wonderful things with fondant and has a cabinet full of baking tools I pine for.  Wednesday I dragged the kiddos over to her place so I could learn how to make and work with fondant. She made me this nice orange cake and then made me do everything else.

I assembled the ball, made the fondant (which is quite an interesting and messy process but cool none-the-less), covered the ball, and then decorated it. This is what I ended up with:

It’s a pumpkin. A lopsided, imperfect, delicious pumpkin.  I really wish I had remembered to take a picture of the fondant making process. I started with a huge blob of melted marshmallows and by kneading in a bag of powdered sugar (and maybe some sweat) on a heavily greased counter I ended up with a large ball of fondant. I’m not sure if it’s worth all the effort to make my own fondant when I can just buy it but it certainly is fun creating an edible cake like this and I certainly can’t do this with butter cream! So, Rebecca, thanks for making fondant seem less intimidating.

Just the day before Lilly was looking on the counter where I keep the sweets and she asked, “Mom, why we don’t have any cake?”

You poor deprived girl, let mama fix that for you.

 

And all was right in her world again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

