Apple Craft for glue stick addicts

Standard

If you have a toddler then you’re fully aware of the addictive nature of glue sticks. If you have a toddler then you’re also aware of how difficult it is to think through a coherent thought while they run and scream around your computer. But I digress. Though please forgive me if this post is grammatically unsound or hard to read. I blame the chaos that is unfolding around me as Cullen sleeps on the couch.

Back to the apple craft. So last week we had a play date at our home and I figured a structured craft would be good, even if it only kept the kids occupied in a civil fashion for a few minutes. A quick internet search revealed a paper based craft needing only the items in my craft drawer. Let me show ya how it’s done:

 

The cast of characters include while paper cut into an apple, green paper cut into a leaf, red paper torn into pieces, a different color for the background and a glue stick. An older kid could help with the cutting but I took care of this detail for the munchkins.


It’s a pretty straight-forward project once you have everything assembled. Just glue the apple down and stick the red paper to the white apple trying to cover all the white spots. This is easier said than done when you’re just 1 year old!

When you’re three you tell your mom, “Go away! I can do it!” and “You forgetted I’m a big girl.”

No hunny, I did not forgetted you’re a big girl, I just like to feel needed every now and then, darn it! Preschool has made her extremely independent as if she wasn’t so before!

While your older kid is laboring at spelling her name it’s always a bright idea to give the younger one a marker and a blank apple and see how much marker ends up in his mouth and how much ends up on the apple. I think it was a pretty even outcome.

And if you’re like me, do one yourself and laugh at how superior yours is to your kids… wait, don’t do that. That’s a jerk move and your kids will end up in therapy. Just make one and put it on your door when you have company and don’t want the door bell waking the kids.

If you leave extra craft supplies on the table you never know how many duplicated projects will appear on your display door… Lilly really enjoyed this one! She made 4.

Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

